Home > Admin Messages, genetics > Some Quick Thoughts (And A New Format)

Some Quick Thoughts (And A New Format)

After an extended absence, I’m pleased to bring boydfuturist back in a new format. Like many other bloggers, I struggle with finding a nice balance between content and regular publishing; the more in depth the post, the more time it takes to write something worth reading. The amount of time that it takes me to come up with a lengthy, thoughtful post would work great for adding to a technology site that has multiple contributors, but makes it difficult to sustain a regular publishing schedule when I’m the only author. Up until now I’ve had something of a dual online identity; here at boydfuturist I’d publish lengthy thoughts on technology, legal issues, and transhumanism generally and on my personal Facebook account I’d publish links or short comments to a handful of technology articles every day. Sometimes it feels like I’m spamming my friends with links and quick comments about tech articles.

It occurs to me that these two problems can solve each other. On on hand, I have too little content and on the other, too much. So, for the new year, I’m going to try posting multiple times per week in a digest format; the most interesting articles I’ve read during the last day or few days along with some short commentary. Since I push through boydfuturist updates to Facebook, this should reduce my Facebook posts to once per day (plus the non-tech stuff I post) and dramatically increase my posts here. When inspiration strikes me, I’ll post more lengthy updates on here as well. Best of all, this will give me (and my readers) a searchable index of articles for later access.

I was on the road for the holidays yesterday, so I didn’t get a chance to read many articles. Here’s a few from this morning:

TechEBlog has a great article about the world’s first gaming laptop. Of course, many of us have gamed on laptops before (I use my Gateway for small stuff right now) but the hardware packed by this little guy is truly impressive. It’s certainly not the cheapest option, but if you really must be the 1337est dude(ette) on the net, this laptop should provide a lag-free experience. People who really know their Hollywood geek roots might appreciate that this Razer Blade shares a name with two of the characters from Hackers, who undoubtedly would have loved to have this piece of equipment.

The Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health has demonstrated that it’s possible to genetically engineer mosquitoes such that they’re immune to malaria. As the article says, roughly 800,000 people per year, many of them children in Africa, die from malaria each year. This is another great example bleeding edge of technology helping to cure problems, and not just for the wealthy.

Finally, Gizmodo pushes through an article that I (as perpetually terrified dental patient) really appreciate: University of Missouri affiliated scientists have created a plasma toothbrush that is supposed to painlessly clean cavities in roughly 30 seconds, and improves the surface for the filling that goes in afterward. With some luck, by 2013 going to the dentist for routine cleanings and (the hopefully rarer) cavity fillings will be a much less traumatic experience.

Happy Holidays, everyone!

  1. December 26, 2011 at 5:29 am

    WONDERFUL Post.thanks for share..more wait ..

  2. January 1, 2012 at 6:21 pm

    I simply couldn’t depart your site before suggesting that I extremely enjoyed the usual information an individual provide to your guests? Is gonna be back frequently to inspect new posts

  3. January 11, 2012 at 5:53 pm

    Great post I have been reading all your posts and they are really great keep up the good work.

  4. January 15, 2012 at 1:02 am

    Great post I have been reading all your posts and they are really great keep up the good work.

  5. January 16, 2012 at 9:29 am

    An fascinating dialogue is price comment. I believe that you need to write extra on this subject, it might not be a taboo topic however generally individuals are not sufficient to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers

  6. January 16, 2012 at 11:43 am

    Thanks so much, everyone. I’m glad to hear that people enjoy my writing.

    Best,

    John

  7. January 18, 2012 at 4:01 am

    Useful info. Hope to see more good posts in the future.

  8. January 21, 2012 at 4:21 pm

    Howdy. I undoubtedly want to leave a nice short statement and also inform you understand that in fact I’ve been reading your web publication for quite some time. Keep up the grand efforts and I will be checking back again once again in a short time.

  1. January 10, 2012 at 10:56 pm
  2. January 22, 2012 at 3:34 am
    URL

Leave a Reply

